This site is intended as a weblog of the IPP, a sporadic, idiosyncratic investigation of independent publishing in South Africa - launched at Blank Projects, Cape Town, in September 2011. Visit or follow this page for updates on the project's trajectory and to view research paraphernalia as it happens. For more information email
2012, 08 May - 01 June: Research office at the Parking Gallery with Research Art

2012, 15 March - 26 April: Workshop and exhibition at Goethe-Institut Library with Josh Ginsburg, Jared Ginsburg, Ryan van Huyssteen, Jacques du Toit, Georgia Munnik, Talya Lubinsky, Ndaxola Nkalashe, Shannon Ferguson, Mika Conradie, Michael Maqungo, Sebastian Borckenhagen, Rangoato Hlasane, Alphabet Zoo (Mini Ngoyi, Isaac Zavale), CUSS (Jamal Nxedlana, Ravi Govender, Zamani Xolo & Nikki Comninos) and others.

2011, 8 September - 1 October: IPP launch with a temporary library and workshop at blank projects with Josh Ginsburg, Stuart Cairns, Sebastian Borckenhagen, James King, Athi Mongezeleli Joja, Christian Nerf, Nathan Gates, Trasi Henen, Jared Ginsburg, Kyle Morland, Lance Herman, Bianca Baldi, Unathi Mkonto, Emalie Bingham, Ryan van Huyssteen, Sjaka Septembir, Jamal Nxedlana, Ravi Govender, Zamani Xolo, Lalya Leiman and Amirah Tadin of CUSS Monthly, and others.

Search This Blog


IPP showcase Tuesday 24/04/2012 at 18:30

The Independent Publishing Project (IPP) has been in residence at the Goethe-Institut Johannesburg since mid-march and will close with a showcase of new works, prototypes and works in progress.

Join us for the event on Tuesday 24 April at 18:30 at the Goethe-Institut Johannesburg: 119 Jan Smuts Ave (entrance on New Port Road), Parkwood.

Our working studio will be translated into a short-loan book bar for the event that will be open from 18:30 to 20:00.

Johannesburg based self-broadcasters CUSS will be screening their second 'webisode', a short film made for online viewing, at 19:00 in the auditorium (see process images of their shoot at the Goethe here).

Participation and works by Josh Ginsburg, Rangoato Hlasane, Mark Kannemeyer, Talya Lubinsky, Georgia Munnik, Ndaxola Nkalashe, Ryan van Huyssteen, CUSS, Mika Conradie, Shannon Ferguson, Jared Ginsburg, Zahn Rust, Joe Foster, Sebastian Borckenhagen, Alphabet Zoo (Mini Ngoyi and Isaac Zavale) and CUSS (Jamal Nxedlana, Zamani Xolo and Ravi Govender with Nikki Comninos) amongst others.